Earlier today, I was feeling frustrated and a little bit disappointed.  I didn’t get the job(s) that I was hoping for.  I knew that I didn’t get them as I wasn’t called Friday, Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday after the posting closed.  Every time the phone rang I would snatch it up, my heart pumping so loudly that I could hear the blodod rushing in my ears, my face getting hot, my hands shaking as I turned to phone to glance at the call display, hoping for that call.

I guess it’s safe to say I was more than a little disappointed.  I had it all figured out, childcare and everything, resting on that job.  Now, in honesty, I don’t have childcare figured out, at all, but I had learned that the teachers of those jobs were flexible and maybe willing to deal with my schedule.  So, that put my hopes up.  The job(s) was(were) at a fantastic school, right up the road (within biking and walking distance and only ten minutes on the bus), the school is close to a pond which is AWESOME for my interest in science and the Earth and my students.

Anyhow, I didn’t get it.  I was bummed.  Frustrated.  I wanted to have a nap, rest and be at peace with my kids.  Nope.  Nap not happening.  Hunter squirming all over, not interested.  Susannah climbing on me, gouging her little nails into my eyelids. 

A friendly face stopped by and let me dump my feelings on her.  She left, I swaddled Susie and lay her down with her soother.  I walked out to the living room to give myself a minute to reflect on my emotions about this and how I was treating my kids (hurriedly).

When I went back into the room, two minutes later, Susannah is peacefully asleep.  As I watched my precious little girl sucking in her sleep, my eyes filled with tears.  God is so good.  He is looking after us and keeping us safe and happy, together.  That’s what matters.  I am so blessed.  I only hope that, in my life and through my interests, I can honour Him. 

Something else will come along.  And, if it doesn’t, I know that I’m in good hands.  He has a plan for me and my family.   

19 responses to “Peace

  1. Right on!

  2. Great post. Peace to you. More postings are up – hopefully there is something that will work for you.

  3. Everything happens for a reason, as I always say. We may not fully appreciate or understand the reason initially, but there must be some other plan for you…

  4. What a great reflection. Glad you know who is in control!

  5. Actually this is a GREAT thing. That means God has something SOOO much BETTER in store. The anticipation should be killing you! He is holding you right now, how awesome is that?

  6. The one you get will be the one that fits best. We will be starting recall tomorrow. I think I’m 16th down the elementary list. Good luck to you.

  7. sorry to hear that things didnt work out..but they will..eventually.sounds like you ahev thigns figured out anyways :)

  8. Well you have the important stuff figured out, that is for sure!

    I hear ya though, it is really hard not knowing what is going to happen.

    Praying for you.

  9. I am sorry that things didn’t work out the way you had hoped….but you’re right about God. He definitely has your job situation covered. I’m praying for you.

  10. You have a great attitude about it all, and I know there just must be something bigger and better in store…


  11. Fran De Vries

    You have such amazing blog friends. They all gave you great comfort. God will take care of you. Bless you my love. Fran

  12. Oh, I’m sorry it didn’t work out! I know He has something better for you – maybe staying home with your little sweeties!

  13. I’m sorry that you didn’t get the job that you were hoping for. But you are right, when it comes down to it life is good. You have your family and you are all healthy and together. Everything happens for a reason right?? Have a wonderful weekend!

  14. Aw, I know you’re disappointed. You will find a great job even better than that one/those.

  15. sending prayers. I know God has great ideas about your work, and care for your kidlets.
    thanks for tonight, we had a blast!

  16. So sorry to hear this. But a great teacher like you will find something. They need you!

  17. Sometimes it is so hard to have patience! God has a plan for us all. You have such a sweet spirit…hang in there!

  18. I’m sorry you didn’t get the job. But you will. You will get another job that’s perfect for you. We have to believe that

  19. Oh yes you could have not put it better GOD is SOOO GOOD…Don’t worry everything will turn out I know so.. (((HUGS)))

Leave a Reply

